Testimonials

Our lovely students, parents and visitors often leave us great reviews and feedback here on our website, through Facebook and on TripAdvisor. We’ve shared their kind comments below:

Summer Music School Reviews

starstarstarstarstar
Great summer school , great people very friendly, learnt loads thank you . just one complaint , we need a “winter school ” too please
Viki Jefkins – 16th August 2017 – via Facebook 
starstarstarstarstar
A great place to learn and enjoy learning your instrument, playing tunes and to have the opportunity to experience playing tunes with other students
The annual summer school is a fantastic experience for all levels of ability and can be highly recommended
Finally I must mention the enthusiasm of the tutors which seems to have no limits and are always attentive to your individual needs
Keep up the good work
All the best to you all
Sandy Batchelor – 14th August 2017 – via Facebook
starstarstarstarstar
An amazing summer school, full of music and friendship. All the tutors were amazing, the setting was spectacular and even the weather was great!!!!
Judy Harman – 12th August 2017 – via Facebook
starstarstarstarstar
We had fun – we met friendly people who love music – we learned a lot – we got to play with other musicians and had expert tuition – we gained confidence. What’s not to like? – We had a fabulous week and we’re already looking forward to next year. Thank you, magical Merlin!
Mollie McCabe – 12th August 2017 – via Facebook
starstarstarstarstar
Wonderful people, thank you for a great week
Christian Lemay – 11th August 2017 – via Facebook 
starstarstarstarstar
I can’t thank you enough Merlin Music especially Kathy who helped put together the most amazing show of talented students yesterday. Surprised and proud to see my daughter very confidently perform in front of an audience, and a song that she wrote and performed on her own !! I would recommend Merlin to any parent looking to pursue there child’s’ passion for music – thank you
Portlande Sanderson – 5th December 2016 – via Facebook

Merlin Cafe Reviews

starstarstarstarstar
Great coffee in this small coffee shop. Music tuition is available for individuals and groups. The Academy also sells musical instruments, sheet music, CDs and videos. Well worth a visit if your in the area
Weerux, Galashiels – 19th October 2016 – via TripAdvisor
starstarstarstar
Run by Andy and Bridget who also run the Merlin Music Academy, this is a quiet spot for a quick cuppa. The owners are friendly and helpful. Recommended.
Bryan L, Edinburgh – 22nd September 2016 – via TripAdvisor
starstarstarstar
It would be easy to overlook this little cafe at the end of what was once the railway station approach road. However we had good coffee which we were able to enjoy in the sunshine outside at one of the two picnic tables there.
Jim B, Sheffield – 23 April 2016 – via TripAdvisor
starstarstarstarstar
My friend and I were in a group tour visiting the Melrose Abbey and it was our free time to have some tea or coffee and perhaps eat something. Since Melrose is just a small town, the coffee shops instantly got crowded. We walked a few steps further and we found this humble coffee shop. This is actually a music school, and they have this small cafe on the first floor.
We got curious and decided to have a cup of coffee in there. To our surprise, the price was not expensive at all. They also offer some cookies and slice of cake in variety. These were also cheap! I think the cakes were home made and they were delicious. Of course, the coffee was great as well. I think this coffee shop was originally intended for the students, but we were warmly welcomed.
I really recommend this cafe. It’s by chance that we found this place but it’s only a few steps from the rotunda. Coming from the abbey, just walk 2-3mins straight ahead until you pass the rotunda, and you’ll see the school’s signboard on the right side.
Jmrolls, Tokyo – 30th March 2014 – via TripAdvisor